
Excavation: Definition

    New Jersey General and Permanent Statutes (N.J.S.), Title 48: Public Utilities, § 48:2-75. 3. ... "Excavate" or "excavating" or "excavation" or "demolition" 
means any operation in which earth, rock, or other material in the ground is moved, removed, or otherwise displaced by means of any tools, equipment, or 
explosive, and includes but is not limited to drilling, grading, boring, milling to a depth greater than six inches, trenching, tunneling, scraping, tree and root 
removal, cable or pipe plowing, fence post or pile driving, and wrecking, razing, rending, or removing any structure or mass material, but does not include 
routine residential property or right-of-way maintenance or landscaping activities performed with non-mechanized equipment, excavation within the flexible 
or rigid pavement box within the right-of-way, or the tilling of soil for agricultural purposes to a depth of 18 inches or less;  

Excavator: Definition

    N.J.S. § 48:2-75. 3. …  "Excavator" means any person performing excavation or demolition and may include a contractor having oversight for an 
excavation or demolition to be performed by rented, operated equipment under the contractor's on-site direction provided the contractor contacts the One-
Call Damage Prevention System in the contractor's name, thereby assuming responsibility and liability, to give notice of the intent to engage in excavation or 
demolition work in that manner;
    New Jersey Administrative Code (N.J.A.C.) § 14:2-1.2 "Excavator" means any person performing excavation or demolition, including a homeowner or 
person performing excavation or demolition on a residential property on behalf of a homeowner. ... "Responsible contractor" means a person that takes 
responsibility for ensuring that excavation or demolition that is performed by a rented equipment operator complies with this chapter.

Excavator Notice to One Call 
Required (Yes / No) Yes

Excavator Notice Minimum # 
Working Days Before Digging 3

Excavator Notice (Specific 
Language)

    N.J.S. § 48:2-82. 10. a.  An excavator shall notify the One-Call Damage Prevention System established pursuant to section 4 of this act of his intent to 
engage in excavation or demolition not less than three business days and not more than 10 business days prior to the beginning of the excavation or 
demolition. 
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.1 (a) A person shall not perform excavation or demolition, as defined at N.J.A.C. 14:2-1.2, unless the person performing the excavation 
or demolition, or a responsible contractor, has provided notice of the excavation or demolition to the One-Call center by dialing 811 or 1-800-272-1000, or by 
electronic notice as directed by the One-Call System operator in accordance with its Board-approved tariff. Requests provided electronically or through any 
procedure other than that directed for use by the One-Call System operator shall not constitute notice in compliance with this section.  (b) An excavator or 
responsible contractor, as defined at N.J.A.C. 14:2-1.2, shall notify the One-Call center of the intent to engage in any excavation or demolition not less than 
three business days before beginning the excavation or demolition, and not more than 10 business days prior to beginning the excavation or demolition, 
except if the excavation or demolition is necessary because of an emergency, as defined at N.J.A.C. 14:2-1.2. An excavator that performs emergency 
excavation or demolition shall comply with the notice requirements at N.J.A.C. 14:2-3.6.

Ticket Life (# of days) 45
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.1 (c))

White-Line Required (Yes / No) No.
(Reference N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.2 (c))

Tolerance Zone 24"
(See N.J.S. § 48:2-80 (2) and § 48:2-82 (d) (1))

Special Digging Requirements 
Within Tolerance Zone (Specific 
Language)

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.3 (a) An excavator or responsible contractor shall:  1. Not operate any mechanized equipment within two feet horizontally of the outside 
wall of any underground facility marked in accordance with this chapter, unless the underground facility has been first located by hand digging. Mechanized 
equipment shall be used with proper care and under adequate supervision to avoid damage to the underground facility;  2. Plan the excavation or demolition 
with reasonable care so as to avoid damage to, and minimize interference with, underground facilities;  3. Use reasonable care during excavation or 
demolition to avoid damage to or interference with underground facilities, including protecting each underground facility from freezing, traffic, and/or other 
loads or hazard in accordance with (b) below; ...

Hand Dig / Vacuum or Soft 
Excavation Within Tolerance Zone 
(Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.3 (a) 1.)

State Damage Prevention Law Summary
State:  New Jersey

(Link to State law provided in Law & Regulation section below)
Summary Date: 8/7/2017

Excavator Requirments



Preserve / Maintain Marks 
Required (Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.3 (a) 4.)

Call Again If No Response from 
Operator Or Signs Of Unmarked 
Facilities  (Yes / No)

No

Notify One-Call if Marks Moved or 
No Longer Visible  (Yes / No) No

Special Language Regarding 
Trenchless Technology (Yes / No) No

Separate Locate Request 
Required for Each Excavator (Yes 
/ No)

Yes
(N.J.S. § 48:2-82 (a))

Notify Operator of Damage (Yes / 
No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.6)

Notify One Call Center of Damage 
(Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.6)

Call 911 if Hazardous Materials 
Released (Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.6)

Notice Exemptions (Yes / No) Yes

Notice Exemptions (Specific 
Language))

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-1.2 … "Excavate" or "excavation" or "demolition" ... does not include: 1. Routine maintenance of residential property or of a residential 
right-of-way, performed with non-mechanized equipment;  2. Routine use of a hand tool on a residential property or a residential right-of-way, to remove 
earth for the repair of a sprinkler system or to locate a property boundary marker, which does not remove earth to a depth of more than six inches;  3. 
Excavation or demolition that remains entirely within the flexible or rigid pavement box within a right-of-way, such that it does not disturb any material excep  
for the pavement;  4. Tilling of soil for agricultural purposes to a depth of 18 inches or less, on land that has received or is eligible to receive a farmland 
assessment under the New Jersey Farmland Assessment Act, N.J.S.A. 54:4-23.1 et seq.; or  5. Routine landscaping activities with mechanized equipment 
that are intended to cut only vegetation, including lawn edging and de-thatching.

Minimum # Days for Operator to 
Respond After Receiving Notice 
(Generally)

3

Operator Requirements to 
Respond to Locate Notification 
(Specific Language)

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-1.1 (d) This chapter applies to a homeowner as follows: 1. Because a homeowner that owns only residential underground facilities, 
including, but not limited to, an underground sprinkler system or an underground structure for lighting, is excluded from the definition of "underground facility 
operator," such a homeowner is not subject to the requirements for underground facility operators at N.J.A.C. 14:2-4   
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-1.2  "Underground facility" ... does not include storm drains or gravity sewers.
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-4.1  (b) An operator of an underground non-metallic water pipe or non-metallic water distribution facility that was installed prior to 
November 18, 1994 is exempt from the requirement at N.J.A.C. 14:2-4.2(a)2 to mark out the facility, but shall, within three business days of the notice to the 
One-Call center, cooperate with excavators in reasonable efforts to determine the location of the facility.   (c) An underground facility operator that is a State 
department or agency is exempt from the requirement at N.J.A.C. 14:2-4.2(a)2 to mark out its facilities in accordance with N.J.A.C. 14:2-4.2(a)2 if all of the 
following criteria are met: ...
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-4.2 (a) An underground facility operator shall ensure that it is fully equipped and available to receive from the One-Call center the 
information required under N.J.A.C. 14:2-3.2 regarding a planned excavation or demolition.  (b) Within three business days after receiving information from 
the One-Call center regarding a planned excavation or demolition, an underground facility operator shall do either of the following:  1. If the underground 
facility operator owns, operates or controls any underground facilities on the site, the underground facility operator shall mark out the site as required under 
N.J.A.C. 14:2-5, except if a facility is exempt from markout requirements under N.J.A.C. 14:2-4.1(b) or (c). If an underground facility operator does not own 
or operate a facility, but controls it, the operator is responsible for compliance with this paragraph; or  2. If the underground facility operator does not own, 
operate or control any underground facilities on the site, the underground facility operator shall make a reasonable effort to notify the excavator of that fact. 
[Reference  New Jersey Statutes § 48:2-80. a.] 

Minimum Standards for Locator 
Qualifications (Yes / No) No

Minimum Standards for Locator 
Qualifications 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

Operator Response



Law Specifies Marking Standards 
Other Than Color 
(Yes / No)

Yes

Law Specifies Marking Standards 
Other Than Color (Specific 
Language)

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-5.2 (a) … perform all markouts using paint. In addition, if the markout must be made on a non-firm surface … operator shall utilize paint, 
and in addition shall utilize stakes and/or flags. If used, the location of any stakes or flags shall conform to the diagrams in chapter Appendix A, incorporated 
herein by reference.  (b) … ensure that all paint used for markouts has sufficient lasting properties … (c) … operator may elect to substitute eight-inch 
whiskers, as defined at N.J.A.C. 14:2-1.2, for one or more paint marks. … The required letter designation code and other numbers and letters may be 
placed on a flag. … (e) … perform all markouts in a manner that will clearly indicate the location and direction of each underground facility. (f) … place all 
marks … at intervals of 25 feet or less…. closer together than 25 feet, if necessary … (g) All paint marks used in markouts shall be one to two inches wide 
and eight to 10 inches long, unless otherwise specified in this chapter. All letters and numbers used in painted markouts shall be six to eight inches high, 
unless otherwise expressly specified in this chapter. (h) … arrange all marks, except for the arrowhead marks in an offset markout, in a line following or 
paralleling the course of the underground facility. The arrowhead marks used in an offset markout shall be perpendicular to the course of the underground 
facility.  (i) All markouts shall conform to the diagrams set forth in chapter Appendix A.  (j) Markouts shall indicate the type of underground facility, using the 
following colors and letter designation codes in Table A below: …  (l) … ensure that all flags used in markouts shall be:  …  (m) …ensure that all stakes 
used in markouts shall be: … (n) Stake markouts and plastic flag markouts shall conform to the diagrams in chapter Appendix A, Figures 1 and 6.  (o) 
Markouts of utility junctions, crossings, changes of direction, dead ends, and other configurations shown in chapter Appendix A, Figure 6, shall comply with 
the diagrams in Figure 6.

Law Includes Specific Language 
For Operators To Locate Sewer 
Laterals (Yes / No)

No
(However, refrence N.J.A.C. § 14:2-4.2 (c))

Law Includes Specific Language 
For Operators To Locate 
Abandoned Facilities  (Yes / No)

No

Operator Must Locate Abandoned 
Facilities 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

Positive Response Required - 
Operator Contact Excavator 
(Yes / No)

No

Positive Response Required - 
Operator Contact Excavator 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

Positive Response Required - 
Operator Contact One Call Center 
(Yes / No)

No 

Positive Response Required - 
Operator Contact One Call Center 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

Positive Response - One-Call 
Automated (Yes / No) No

Operator Must Provide One-Call 
Center with Information On 
Locations of Buried Facilities (Yes 
/ No)

Yes

Operator Must Provide One-Call 
Center with Information On 
Locations of Buried Facilities 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed.
(However, N.J.S. § 48:2-85.)



Operator Must Update Information 
On Locations of Buried Facilities 
(Yes / No)

No

Operator Must Update Information 
On Locations of Buried Facilities 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

New Facilities Must Be Locatable 
Electronically 
(Yes / No)

No

New Facilities Must Be Locatable 
Electronically (Specific Language) Not addressed

Design Request (Yes / No) No

Mandatory One Call Membership 
(Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.S. § 48:2-80 8. a. (1)) 

One Call Membership Exemptions 
(Yes / No) Yes

One Call Membership Exemptions 
(Specific Language)

    N.J.S. 48:2-80 8. a. Except as provided in sections 6 and 9 of this act, the operator of an underground facility shall: (1) Participate in and comply with the 
requirements of the One-Call Damage Prevention System established pursuant to section 4 of this act...
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-1.2 "Underground facility operator" or "operator" does not include a homeowner who owns only residential underground facilities, such as 
an underground lawn sprinkler system or an underground structure for a residential low-voltage lighting system.

One-Call Law Addresses Board 
Make-Up (Yes / No) No

One-Call Law Addresses Board 
Make-Up (Specific Language) Not addressed

Separate Body Designated to 
Advise Enforcement Authority 
(Yes / No)

No

Separate Body Designated to 
Advise Enforcement Authority 
(Specific Language)

Not addressed

Penalties / Fines Excavators 
(Yes / No) Yes

Penalties / Fines Excavators 
(Specific Language)

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-6.2  (a) Except as provided under (b) below, an underground facility operator, an excavator, or the One-Call System operator, that violate
any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted pursuant thereto, shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $ 
1,000 and not more than $ 2,500 per day for each day the violation continues, except that the maximum civil penalty shall not exceed $ 25,000 for any 
related series of violations.  (b) Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter or of N.J.S.A. 48:2-88 to the contrary, a person who is determined by the 
Board, after notice and opportunity to be heard, to have violated any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted 
pursuant thereto, with respect to a natural gas underground pipeline or distribution facility or a hazardous liquid underground pipeline or distribution facility, 
shall be liable to a civil penalty in the amount set forth in the Board's natural gas pipeline safety rules at N.J.A.C. 14:7-2.6.
    § 14:7-2.7 (a) The Board may assess a civil administrative penalty of not more than $ 100,000 for each violation, for each day the violation persists, up to 
a maximum of $ 1,000,000 for any related series of violations, against each person who violates the provisions of any law, rule, regulation or order relating 
to natural gas pipeline safety, including violations of the Underground Facility Protection Act, N.J.S.A. 48:2-73 et seq., pertaining to natural gas pipeline 
safety, gas pipeline distribution facilities, hazardous liquid underground pipelines or hazardous liquid distribution facilities.

Penalties / Fines Operators 
(Yes / No) Yes

One Call, Enforcement, and Reporting



Penalties / Fines Operators 
(Specific Language)

    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-6.2  (a) Except as provided under (b) below, an underground facility operator, an excavator, or the One-Call System operator, that violate
any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted pursuant thereto, shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $ 
1,000 and not more than $ 2,500 per day for each day the violation continues, except that the maximum civil penalty shall not exceed $ 25,000 for any 
related series of violations.  (b) Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter or of N.J.S.A. 48:2-88 to the contrary, a person who is determined by the 
Board, after notice and opportunity to be heard, to have violated any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted 
pursuant thereto, with respect to a natural gas underground pipeline or distribution facility or a hazardous liquid underground pipeline or distribution facility, 
shall be liable to a civil penalty in the amount set forth in the Board's natural gas pipeline safety rules at N.J.A.C. 14:7-2.6.
    § 14:7-2.7 (a) The Board may assess a civil administrative penalty of not more than $ 100,000 for each violation, for each day the violation persists, up to 
a maximum of $ 1,000,000 for any related series of violations, against each person who violates the provisions of any law, rule, regulation or order relating 
to natural gas pipeline safety, including violations of the Underground Facility Protection Act, N.J.S.A. 48:2-73 et seq., pertaining to natural gas pipeline 
safety, gas pipeline distribution facilities, hazardous liquid underground pipelines or hazardous liquid distribution facilities.

Penalties / Fines Other (Yes / No) Yes

Penalties / Fines Other 
(Specific Language)

    N.J.S. § 48:2-87 15.  Any person who knowingly engages in an excavation without:  a.  First using the One-Call Damage Prevention System to determine 
the location of underground facilities in the area being excavated; or  b. Heeding appropriate location information or markings established by any operator; 
or  c. Otherwise complying with the provisions of this act; is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.  If, because of the violation, damage occurs to an 
underground facility resulting in death, serious bodily harm, or actual damage to property or loss of service revenue exceeding $50,000, or damage occurs 
to an underground hazardous liquid pipeline facility resulting in the release of more than 50 barrels of product, the person shall, upon conviction, be guilty of 
a crime of the third degree.
    N.J.A.C. § 14:2-6.2  (a) Except as provided under (b) below, an underground facility operator, an excavator, or the One-Call System operator, that violate
any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted pursuant thereto, shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $ 
1,000 and not more than $ 2,500 per day for each day the violation continues, except that the maximum civil penalty shall not exceed $ 25,000 for any 
related series of violations.  (b) Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter or of N.J.S.A. 48:2-88 to the contrary, a person who is determined by the 
Board, after notice and opportunity to be heard, to have violated any provision of this chapter, the Underground Facility Protection Act, or an order adopted 
pursuant thereto, with respect to a natural gas underground pipeline or distribution facility or a hazardous liquid underground pipeline or distribution facility, 
shall be liable to a civil penalty in the amount set forth in the Board's natural gas pipeline safety rules at N.J.A.C. 14:7-2.6.
    § 14:7-2.7 (a) The Board may assess a civil administrative penalty of not more than $ 100,000 for each violation, for each day the violation persists, up to 
a maximum of $ 1,000,000 for any related series of violations, against each person who violates the provisions of any law, rule, regulation or order relating 
to natural gas pipeline safety, including violations of the Underground Facility Protection Act, N.J.S.A. 48:2-73 et seq., pertaining to natural gas pipeline 
safety, gas pipeline distribution facilities, hazardous liquid underground pipelines or hazardous liquid distribution facilities.

Enforcement Authority Identified New Jersey Board of Public Utilities
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-6.1)

Damage Investigation Required by 
Enforcement Authority 
(Yes / No)

No

Mandatory Reporting of 
Excavation Damage by All Utility 
Owners to State Entity or 
Department (Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.S. § 48:2-80 (c))

Mandatory Reporting by 
Excavators to State Entity or 
Department (Yes / No)

Yes
(N.J.A.C. § 14:2-3.6 (b))

Mandatory Reporting to State 
Entity or Department - Gas Only 
(Yes / No)

No

Statute / Law (Name & Link)
    New Jersey General and Permanent Statutes (N.J.S.), Title 48: Public Utilities,   §§ 48:2-73 to 48:2-91, Underground Facility Protection Act

(http://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu) 
    Also see One-Call Center Website for Information on State Law.

Law and Regulation



Date of Last Revision to Statute / 
Law July 27, 2007

Administrative Rules / 
Regulations (Yes / No) Yes

Administrative Rules / 
Regulations (Name & Link)

New Jersey Administrative Code (N.J.A.C.), Title 14, Chapter 2, Subchapters 1 - 6, Underground Facilities: One-Call Damage Prevention System
(http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/njcode/)

State One Call Center(s)
(Name & Link)  New Jersey One Call(http://www.nj1-call.org/)

Notes     New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 14, Chapter 2, Underground Facilities: One-Call Damage Prevention System, expires on February 11, 2022. (See 
Chapter Notes for N.J.A.C 14:2 (2017).

State Damage Prevention / One-
Call Law Recently Revised With 
Future Implementation Dates

0

Miscellaneous Notes


